top of page

SINGLE POST

Lets de-clutter the mind:

Recently it came into my awareness how one fills not only one’s mind but also how one can fill a house with material non-essentials.

“If we fill our lives with things, attachments, habits, work and schemes how can we find space for the excitement of the moment, or the new opportunity that will transform our lives” (from the teachings of Swami Satyanda, ‘Yoga with attitude.’)

My aim over the Christmas break is to de-clutter my life, in mind, body and spirit. This will entail letting go of the past. In objects we hold sentimental memories but do we really need them to carry forward?

Aparigraha is one of the 5 Yamas and is defined as ‘non-grasping’. When we are able to let go of attachments to material objects and free space in our homes we can also create a freedom of spirit and allow new opportunities. This concept can be applied on a physical level and also an emotional level. On a physical level I have decided to let go of most of my physical possessions, especially anything older than two years that I may be ‘grasping’ unnecessarily on to. And then on an emotional level: can I let go of old stories, past hurts or situations that now don’t serve my purpose? Clearing the mind of old baggage will also help to ‘empty the cup’. Often we hear the statement ‘is the cup half full or half empty?’ The usual answer expected is half full in search of a positive sentiment. However I aim for my cup to be empty. This will allow room in my mind to absorb study, new experiences and to liberate the mind from past samskaras.

bottom of page